Prizes & Lectures

Prizes and LecturesThrough its numerous prizes and lectures, the Shorenstein Center recognizes the best journalists and authors working today, as well as politicians making a difference in the realm of public policy.

The Theodore H. White Lecture on Press and Politics commemorates the life of the reporter and historian who set the standard for contemporary political journalism and campaign coverage. Since 1989 the annual White Lecture has been delivered by a noted politician, journalist, or author, and is one of the highlights of the Center’s year. 

The Richard S. Salant Lecture on the Freedom of the Press was established in 2008 by the estate of Dr. Frank Stanton in honor of his longtime friend and colleague, Richard S. Salant, an ardent defender of the First Amendment and passionate leader of broadcast ethics and news standards.

The Goldsmith Awards Program has as its goal the encouragement of a more insightful, spirited public debate about government, politics and the press. It includes the Goldsmith Prize for Investigative Reporting, Goldsmith Book Prize, and the Goldsmith Career Award for Excellence in Journalism.

The David Nyhan Prize honors outstanding work in the field of political journalism.

A list of upcoming lectures and prizes is available on our events calendar, while information on past awards can be found in our archives.

John Dickerson, a light skinned man with light reddish colored hair, speaks at a podium below a sign that say s"John F. Kennedy Jr. Forum" wearing a green jacket, white shirt, and tie.

The Presidency Above the Campaign

CBS News Prime Time anchor John Dickerson, who has covered eight presidential candidates in his career as a political journalist, gave the Theodore H. White Lecture on Press and Politics at Harvard Kennedy School on February 5, 2024. The following is a lightly edited version of his speech for publication. The full video of his

Read More »

Shawn Donnan awarded 2022 Nyhan Prize for Political Journalism

The Shorenstein Center on Media, Politics and Public Policy at Harvard Kennedy School announces the winner of the 2022 Nyhan Prize for Political Journalism: Shawn Donnan is senior writer for Bloomberg News, where he covers economics with an emphasis on where policy meets people and the real world. His reporting appears across the organization’s many

Read More »

Submissions now open for 2023 Goldsmith Prize for Investigative Reporting

Has your reporting made an impact on U.S. government or policy at the national, state, or local level (or do you know a journalist whose stories have made a difference)? Apply for the 2022 Goldsmith Prize for Investigative Reporting from Harvard’s Shorenstein Center on Media, Politics and Public Policy. The Goldsmith Prize, now in its 30th year, seeks

Read More »

Steve Lopez wins 2021 Nyhan Prize for Political Journalism

The Shorenstein Center on Media, Politics and Public Policy and the Nyhan Prize Selection Committee has named Steve Lopez, columnist at the Los Angeles Times, as the winner of the 2021 Nyhan Prize in Political Journalism.  The Nyhan Prize honors a political journalist who covers politics and social policy in the public interest, and embodies

Read More »