Faculty and Staff

Leadership

Nancy Gibbs, Lombard Director and Edward R. Murrow Professor of Practice of Press, Politics and Public Policy
617-496-1615 | nancy_gibbs@hks.harvard.edu
Assistant: Chelsey Crabbe

Laura Manley, Executive Director
laura_manley@hks.harvard.edu

Administration

Chelsey Crabbe, Executive Coordinator
chelsey_crabbe@hks.harvard.edu

Kevin Wren, Faculty Assistant to Richard Parker and Tom Patterson
kevin_wren@hks.harvard.edu

Communications & Events

Liz Schwartz, Director of Communications and Events
617-495-2233| liz_schwartz@hks.harvard.edu

Allie Henske, Events Program Manager
allie_henske@hks.harvard.edu

Lindsay Underwood, Communications Coordinator
lindsayunderwood@hks.harvard.edu

Finance

Susan Tannehill, Director of Finance, Research Administration and Operations
susan_tannehill@hks.harvard.edu

Susan Ocitti Mahoney, Manager, Finance and Administration (On Leave July-December 2021)
617-495-8345 | susan_ocitti@hks.harvard.edu

Kuwardeep Sabharwal, Finance and Administration Coordinator
kuwardeep_sabharwal@hks.harvard.edu

Projects & Research

Dr. Joan Donovan, Shorenstein Center Research Director 

The Journalist’s Resource

Clark Merrefield, Senior Editor, Economics, Journalist’s Resource

Naseem Miller, Senior Editor, Health, Journalist’s Resource

Carmen Nobel, Program Director, Journalist’s Resource

Denise-Marie Ordway, Managing Editor, Journalist’s Resource

HKS Misinformation Review

Dr. Natascha Chtena, Research Fellow and Editor-in-Chief of the HKS Misinformation Review
achtena@hks.harvard.edu

Public Interest Tech Lab

Dr. Latanya Sweeney, Director

Technology and Social Change Project

Dr. Joan Donovan, Project Director

Dr. Rob Faris, Senior Researcher

Brian Friedberg, Senior Researcher

Emily Dreyfuss, Senior Editor

Brandi Collins-Dexter, Senior Research Fellow

Alexei Sisulu Abrahams, PhD, Data Scientist

Megan O’Neil, TaSC Project Administrator

Project leadership listed above. For full team list, including fellows, visit the TaSC Project page.

 

Faculty

Resident Faculty are based within the Shorenstein Center and contribute to the rich intellectual life of the center, as well as producing research and teaching courses at the Kennedy School.

Matthew Baum, Kalb Professor of Global Communication
Nancy Gibbs, Edward R. Murrow Professor of the Practice of Press, Politics and Public Policy
Sharad Goel, Professor of Public Policy
Jennifer Lerner, Thornton Bradshaw Professor of Public Policy, Decision Science, and Management
Julia Minson, Associate Professor of Public Policy
Richard Parker, Lecturer in Public Policy and Senior Fellow
Thomas E. Patterson, Bradlee Professor of Government and the Press
Todd Rogers, Professor of Public Policy
Latanya Sweeney, Professor of the Practice of Government  and Technology
James Waldo, Gordon McKay Professor of the Practice of Computer Science, SEAS

Affiliated Faculty sit across the Kennedy School and Harvard University. Their research and teaching align with and contribute to the Shorenstein Center’s mission. 

Susan Crawford, John A. Reilly Clinical Professor of Law
Justin de Beneditcis-Kessner, Assistant Professor of Public Policy
David Eaves, Lecturer in Public Policy
Juliette Kayyem, Belfer Lecturer in International Security
Tarek Masoud, Sultan of Oman Professor of International Relations
Khalil G. Muhammad, Professor of History, Race, and Public Policy
Pippa Norris, Paul F. McGuire Lecturer in Comparative Politics
Daniel P. Schrag, Sturgis Hooper Professor of Geology, Professor of Environmental Science and Engineering
Maya Sen, Assistant Professor of Public Policy
Jeff Seglin, Senior Lecturer in Public Policy, Director of HKS Communications Program
Jonathan Zittrain, George Bemis Professor of International Law, Harvard Law School

Shorenstein Center staff photo Fall 2019
Shorenstein Center faculty and staff, Fall 2019