The Center for Public Integrity in partnership with ABC News Win the Goldsmith Prize for Investigative Reporting


Wednesday, March 5, 6 p.m.
John F. Kennedy Jr. Forum

2014 Goldsmith Prize Winners

2014 Goldsmith Prize Winners

March 5, 2014 – Goldsmith Awards Ceremony honored the best in investigative and political journalism. The Goldsmith Prize for Investigative Reporting was awarded to Chris Hamby, Ronnie Greene, Jim Morris and Chris Zubak-Skees of The Center for Public Integrity and Matthew Mosk, Brian Ross and Rhonda Schwartz of ABC News for their investigative report “Breathless and Burdened: Dying from Black Lung, Buried by Law and Medicine.”

The Book Prize for best academic book was awarded to Kevin Arceneaux and Martin Johnson, for Changing Minds or Changing Channels? Partisan News in an Age of Choice; and Matthew Levendusky for How Partisan Media Polarize America. The Goldsmith Book Prize for best trade book went to Jaron Lanier for Who Owns the Future?

Candy Crowley, CNN

Candy Crowley, CNN

The Career Award for Excellence in Journalism was awarded to Candy Crowley, chief political correspondent and anchor of State of the Union with Candy Crowley, CNN.

Press release announcing the Goldsmith Prize winner (PDF).

Candy Crowley  delivered the keynote address. She spoke about the impact of social media and a fast-paced news cycle on the accuracy and truthfulness of journalism. Scroll down for the full Storify story.

Watch the video.
Read the transcript (PDF).
If the story below doesn’t load properly, click here to view in Storify.

Goldsmith Awards Ceremony with the presentation of the Goldsmith Prize for Investigative Reporting, the Book Prize, and the Career Award for Excellence in Journalism. Keynote address by Candy Crowley. Wednesday, March 5, 6 p.m., John F. Kennedy Jr. Forum, Harvard Kennedy School.