Media and Politics: Who Uses Whom? Student Study Group with Phil Kent, Former CEO of Turner Broadcasting Systems

A study group series with Phil Kent, Associate of the Shorenstein Center, former IOP Fellow, and former CEO of Turner Broadcasting Systems.

This study group will explore the relationship between our news media and our politics. If the last decade has proven anything, it is that these two institutions – acting purely in their own self-interest – are more codependent than ever, actively and knowingly using each other. Media is driven ultimately by money; politics by your votes. Today, the traditional media and social media have a disproportionate influence on public policy and public dialogue on a wide range of issues. Students who participate in this study group will gain a deep understanding of how the news media and the political system use each other for their own selfish interest.

Study groups are for Harvard students only (graduate and undergraduate) and are not-for-credit.

Dates

  • Thursday, August 31, 2017, 2:00 pm – 3:30 pm
  • Thursday, September 7, 2017, 2:00 pm – 3:30 pm 
  • Tuesday, September 12, 2017, 2:00 pm – 3:30 pm
  • Thursday, September 14, 2017, 2:00 pm – 3:30 pm
  • Tuesday, September 19, 2017, 2:00 pm – 3:30 pm
  • Thursday, September 21, 2017, 2:00 pm – 3:30 pm
  • Tuesday, September 26, 2017, 2:00 pm – 3:30 pm
  • Thursday, September 28, 2017, 2:00 pm – 3:30 pm with special guest Don Lemon, CNN Anchor
  • Tuesday, October 3, 2017, 2:00 pm – 3:30 pm
  • Thursday, October 5, 2017, 2:00 pm – 3:30 pm
  • Tuesday, October 10, 2017, 2:00 pm – 3:30 pm
  • Thursday, October 12, 2017, 2:00 pm – 3:30 pm
  • Tuesday, October 17, 2017, 2:00 pm – 3:30 pm

All study groups take place in Littauer 166.

Registration not required.